Weekly Photo Challenge: Foreshadow

Flinders Street Station, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia.

Flinders Street Station, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia.

P has kindly donated a photo for this week’s photo challenge. πŸ™‚ When I found out the theme for the challenge this week was foreshadow I couldn’t resist posting a photo from my soon-to-be home. P took this photo along with some others on his last night in Melbourne before moving to the UK in August 2010. He tells me Flinders Street Station is a true Melbourne landmark and icon so I thought it would be appropriate to use this photo here. I remember him showing me his last night in Melbourne photo album not long after we got together – I didn’t think for a minute that I would actually end up going out to Melbourne to live long term one day. The fact I will probably be seeing this building for myself in a few very short months still hasn’t really sunk in.Β  πŸ˜‰

3 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Foreshadow

  1. Yes, for many years people have arranged to meet “under the clocks”. I think there’d be an outcry if they decided to take them away.

    NOT that the clocks are ever actually very accurate, of course! πŸ˜†

    • I think the front is very iconic actually, what I like about it is that it’s instantly recognisable for someone who is familiar with the place. There are spots like that in Oxford and Lancaster for me, no matter how obscure the photo I know where the photographer is immediately. You come to love the familiar quirks of your surroundings. The only places I have ever been where the trains ACTUALLY run on time however have been Switzerland and Japan. There they run to the second ;-). It took some getting used to for someone who is accustomed to British rail!

      • Oh, yes, Japan was AMAZING!!! I remember thinking I must have the time wrong as there was no-one on the platform – then they all appeared up the platform ramp about 1 second before the train pulled in!

Leave a Reply

