Weekly Photo Challenge: One Shot, Two Ways.

Ack – I’m late with this week’s photo challenge post but I went into town specifically last weekend to take these pictures so they are being submitted dammit! 😀

These are photos of The Bridge of Sighs in Oxford, which links the two parts of Hertford College together. It is popularly believed that The Bridge of Sighs is modelled on the Venetian bridge, but it was never intended to be a replica.  In fact, it bears a closer resemblance to Venice’s Rialto Bridge. I’ve included some pictures for a comparison. 🙂 I found this challenge a bit more difficult this week, though it did help me with perspective I suppose. My landscape and portrait photos of the bridge looked rather too similar, so I decided to zoom in on the bridge’s central carvings instead for the landscape picture. There really are some beautiful buildings in Oxford, taking the time to try and photograph them well is helping me to appreciate them more.

The Rialto Bridge, Venice, Italy.

The Rialto Bridge, Venice, Italy.
(Photo credit: Flickr user ptpgrad.)

The Bridge of Sighs, Venice, Italy. (Photo credit: Flickr user it_outsider.)

The Bridge of Sighs, Venice, Italy.
(Photo credit: Flickr user it_outsider.)

2 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: One Shot, Two Ways.

  1. Thanks for all the photos of the different bridges. Makes it easy to compare them.
    The central carvings you zoomed in on look very beautiful. Oxford must be a very interesting place. I find too, taking time to photograph beautiful things leads to more appreciation. 🙂

    • Thank you Auntyuta, I’m glad you are enjoying the photos. Oxford is extremely beautiful with so much history and wonderful buildings. When you see that every day you tend to forget, so I’m pleased these challenges are helping to remind me.

Leave a Reply

